top of page

Back in Time for the Winter Holidays


Wheat Weaving!!! A New Adventure! Want to Join me in my quest?

I am going to TRY to learn this. Either before Yule or during. In any case, it is a very historic and traditional artform, appropriate for Fall. Originally, these were for Good Luck, Fertility, Blessings. Many areas of the world wove grasses and wheat, and sometimes focused on the artistic, not just the practical (baskets, hats, etc.) The wheat weavings make nice gifts, decorations for fall and Christmas ornaments, I think.

As I am mainly interested in the Nordic and Celtic decorative wheat weaving, I'll be concentrating on the following:

If you are interested in learning this with me, or if you are accomplished at this and want to help me learn, please let me know. I've included some links that I found below that seem to be of traditional extraction and plausibly Medieval or earlier (except the reindeer):

 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page