top of page

Viking Ladies' Garb

Getting ready for Grand Thing is half the fun! We've got about six weeks to go, so I've come up with some sources to help you along. I'm sewing my first apron dress and tunic set. Wish me luck! (Can't wait to see your awesome garb!) Come to our A&S night and let us help you or keep you company while you sew yours...

From what I've seen there are several styles of apron dresses.

One is basically a tube (peplos styl), then there's a wrap around style, a pleated front style, a gored pinafore style, an open sides style, an open front style, a thing hanging down the front style, and a lace-up sides style.

Finally, the juicy details:

See how the loops holding the dress are connected by the brooches? Handy. The image below shows how to connect the loops to the dress. The sewing technique for decorative stitches image is also below.

Here's more on embroidery:

But you'll still need an underdress, so I've included a pattern here:

 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page