top of page

Pelicans Challenge

'The Dream': It's rather like the Dream of Camelot: a brief shining moment for SCAdians that takes us beyond the ugliness we so often see in the mundane world. If enough good people get on board, it glows brightly. That's why Pelicans, supporting Pelicans and nurturing future Pelicans is vital. "Knights hit things. Laurels make things, Pelicans make things happen."

Pelicans Challenge My Notion of Service.

Why? Read on.

Peers of the Order of the Pelican are the noblest among us, because they are the essence of the SCA "dream", the embodiment of Chivalry, the keepers of the secrets of Valor in the midst of difficulties. If you are looking for the heart of the Society, seek the tutelage of a Pelican. What Do Pelicans Do? (courtesy of Kingdom of Lochac)

  • They don't just do the work--they take responsibility

  • They don't just do the office--they improve the office's reputation, responsiveness, organisation and/or effectiveness

  • They don't just put in the effort--they inspire others to work above their level and have fun too

  • They don't just take on easy, fun, or high-profile tasks--they slog away at tasks that are nasty, boring, difficult, or messy until the situation is resolved

  • They don't just burn bright and burn out--they delegate and pass on knowledge and responsibility in a way that builds the group

  • They pour oil on troubled waters and rain on spotfires, not the other way around

Pelicans welcome us. Pelicans feed, cloth and help us find our niche in the Society. Pelicans teach us, and give of themselves to us. The thing that drew me in was once delightful Pelican at my first event. The thing that drew my significant other into the SCA was the amazing volunteers he saw working to make the Dream live for us, and for others.


I do not volunteer to do stuff like put in time as the Chatelaine or run Gate or be a Waterbearer because I have the traits and skills needed to become a Pelican (I am not a detail-oriented organizer, don't keep track of time, can't be contacted by phone, am uneasy around strangers, new people & crowd. Moreover, with my impatience and stubborn streak, I'll still be working on being gracious on my deathbed.)


I volunteer in order to honor the Pelicans' spirit and make sure amazing volunteers (perhaps on their way to Peerage) don't get burnt out. Often times, it is the same people working diligently, year after year, giving generously of their time and themselves to ensure the success of SCA gatherings. I value the fact that SCA volunteers serve all of us: you, me and 'The Dream' by generously sacrificing their time, their effort, and more to make sure all have a good time, are fed, and that things run as smoothly as possible. I am in awe that Pelicans consistently do so.


It's good show Pelicans that their contributions 'behind the wings' are appreciated and respected as much as those "on the stage'. Awards are all fine and dandy, but the best way I know to show to show Proper Respect and Encouragement to Pelicans is to emulate the example of service they set, to the best of my limited ability. Many hands make light work. I challenge myself and you, dear reader, to give at least an hour of time to serving at events, and to serving the Barony between events.


p.s. Volunteering is also one of the best ways to learn new stuff and meet really great people!

 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page